Print this page
Monday, 19 April 2021 07:09

Bank of Jamaica Now an Independent Body

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Members of  the Board of  the Bank of  Jamaica (BOJ), which became an independent body on Friday, April 16 have been announced.

They are Central Bank governor Richard Byles, who will serve as the Chairman, Senior Deputy Governor Dr. Wayne Robinson, Dr. Christine Clarke, Andrea Coy and company executives Gary Hendrickson, Howard Mitchell and Richard Powell.

A Deputy Governor will also be appointed to the Board.

The individual will be appointed by the Governor General on the recommendation of  the Board.

Under the Bank of  Jamaica Amendment Act the Finance Minister no longer has the power to issue directions on monetary policy.

As a result the Central Bank will have operational independence.

Super User

Latest from Super User